+44 (0)1202 666118

PADI INSTRUCTOR DEVELOPMENT COURSE Change Your Life

The PADI Instructor Development Course

The PADI Instructor Development Course is your way to join a very special and privileged group of people. Those who teach others how to dive!  Being a PADI Instructor can take you around the world. It can be an entire new career. Or you can teach others in your spare time and at weekends.  Whatever you want to do, this is the starting point!

Whats Involved

Our Full time IDC is held over 8 days and includes EFR Instructor and 7 Instructor Specialities. The price ALSO includes accommodation at the Portland Bunkhouse .

The whole package if paid for course by course the price would be £1540 but book as a single 8 day package and we will reduce the price to £1240 – that’s a saving of £250!

You can of course book each element separately, and if you’d like to do that get in touch with us through the contact form.  If you just want the IDC it will be £850.  Specialties can be done 1 at a time (£120 per Spec) or as a 7 course package (£500).  EFR Instructor is a requirement for becoming an Open Water Instructor. As a stand alone course is £250.

The Bunkhouse is £17 a night if booked direct.

 

 Who teaches the course?

Our PADI IDC is taught by 2 Course Directors, Dale Spree from Dive Beyond and Ian Craddock from Flippas-n-Fins.  Dale has been a CD for 13 years and has taught hundreds of instructors.  Ian is a new CD but as a result has all the latest and cutting edge techniques and info at his finger tips. Our IDC will give you the ALL the tools you need to pass the IE and be a truly great instructor.

We also offer pre-IDC courses either onsite or distance learning to help you prepare for the IDC.  Click here for more detail.

 

What You Learn

During the course you’ll learn how to apply the PADI System of Education by presenting at least

  • Two confined water teaching presentations
  • Two knowledge development presentations
  • One open water teaching presentations integrating two skills

 

What You Can Teach

After completing the IDC you will be elegable to go to a Instructor Examination, which once passing you become an Open Water Scuba Instructor, this means you will be able to conduct the entire range of PADI programs from Discover Scuba Diving up to Divemaster. You may also choose to acquire specialty instructor ratings in areas of interest, such as Digital Underwater Photographer or Enriched Air Diver.

 

The Scuba Gear You Use

You will need to equip yourself with all the basic scuba gear as well as two scuba signaling devices —one audible and one visual.


The Learning Materials You Need

The PADI Instructor Development Course crewpak includes all the materials needed to prepare for the Instructor Development Course. This is not included in the price the IDC. The 23-item pack includes:

  • Instructor cue cards for PADI’s core courses (Open Water and Advanced, Rescue and Divemaster)
  • Instructor Development Course Candidate Workbook and related reference materials,
  • Lesson planning slates for confined and open water
  • Quiz and exam booklets for the core courses
  • Specialty outlines for Project AWARE
  • PADI Instructor Manual

 

Prerequisites

To qualify for joining an Instructor Development Course, you must:

  • Be certified as a PADI Divemaster or a PADI Assistant Instructor or be an instructor in good standing with another training organisation for at least six months (Contact Us for qualifying credentials.)
  • Be certified as an Emergency First Response Instructor, this can be done during the IDC 
  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be certified as a diver for at least six months
  • Have 60 logged dives that include experience in night, deep and navigation diving to participate in the Instructor Development Course. You’ll need 100 logged dives to take the Instructor Exams
  • Have proof of CPR and First Aid training within the last 24 months. The Emergency First Response course meets this requirement
  • Be fit for diving and submit a Medical Statement (PDF) signed by a physician within the last 12 months


Your Next Adventure:

You’ll want to continue your professional training by completing courses that allow you to teach beyond the core courses. For example, Emergency Oxygen Provider Instructor, Emergency First Response Instructor, and specialty instructor courses complement your Open Water Scuba Instructor rating and add to your professional portfolio.

For more information about this or other PADI courses have a chat with one of the FLIPPAS-N-FINS Team members.

  Course Type  
07 Dec 2018 IDC 07/12/2018 14 Dec 2018 6 -

Day 1
Fri 07 Dec 2018
12:00
10 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Sat 08 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sun 09 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Mon 10 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Tue 11 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Wed 12 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Thu 13 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Fri 14 Dec 2018
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

14 Feb 2019 IDC 14/02/2019 05 Mar 2019 12 -

Course Orientation
Thu 14 Feb 2019
10:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 1
Fri 15 Feb 2019
19:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Day 2
Mon 18 Feb 2019
09:30
08 30
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Tue 19 Feb 2019
09:30
08 30
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Thu 21 Feb 2019
09:30
08 30
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Fri 22 Feb 2019
19:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Day 6
Thu 28 Feb 2019
09:30
08 30
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Fri 01 Mar 2019
19:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Day 8
Tue 05 Mar 2019
09:30
08 30
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

07 Mar 2019 IDC 07/03/2019 14 Mar 2019 8 -

Day 1
Thu 07 Mar 2019
12:00
10 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Fri 08 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sat 09 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Sun 10 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Mon 11 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Tue 12 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Wed 13 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Thu 14 Mar 2019
09:00
08 00

25 Apr 2019 IDC 25/04/2019 02 May 2019 8 -

Day 1
Thu 25 Apr 2019
12:00
10 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Fri 26 Apr 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sat 27 Apr 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Sun 28 Apr 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Mon 29 Apr 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Tue 30 Apr 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Wed 01 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Thu 02 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

10 May 2019 IDCPT 10/05/2019 02 Jun 2019 8 -

Friday 1
Fri 10 May 2019
12:00
10 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 1
Sat 11 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 1
Sun 12 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 2
Fri 17 May 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 2
Sat 18 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 2
Sun 19 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 3
Fri 24 May 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 3
Sat 25 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 3
Sun 26 May 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 4
Fri 31 May 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 4
Sat 01 Jun 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 4
Sun 02 Jun 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

04 Jul 2019 IDC 04/07/2019 11 Jul 2019 12 -

Day 1
Thu 04 Jul 2019
12:00
10 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Fri 05 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sat 06 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Sun 07 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Mon 08 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Tue 09 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Wed 10 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Thu 11 Jul 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

01 Aug 2019 IDC 01/08/2019 08 Aug 2019 12 -

Day 1
Thu 01 Aug 2019
12:00
10 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Fri 02 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sat 03 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Sun 04 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Mon 05 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Tue 06 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Wed 07 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Thu 08 Aug 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

05 Sep 2019 IDC 05/09/2019 12 Sep 2019 12 -

Day 1
Thu 05 Sep 2019
12:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Fri 06 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sat 07 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Sun 08 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Mon 09 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Tue 10 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Wed 11 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Thu 12 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

06 Sep 2019 IDCPT 06/09/2019 29 Sep 2019 8 -

Friday 1
Fri 06 Sep 2019
12:00
10 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 1
Sat 07 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 1
Sun 08 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 2
Fri 13 Sep 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 2
Sat 14 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 2
Sun 15 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 3
Fri 20 Sep 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 3
Sat 21 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 3
Sun 22 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 4
Fri 27 Sep 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 4
Sat 28 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 4
Sun 29 Sep 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

03 Oct 2019 IDC 03/10/2019 10 Oct 2019 12 -

Day 1
Thu 03 Oct 2019
12:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 2
Fri 04 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 3
Sat 05 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 4
Sun 06 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 5
Mon 07 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 6
Tue 08 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 7
Wed 09 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Day 8
Thu 10 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd

11 Oct 2019 IDCPT 11/10/2019 03 Nov 2019 8 -

Friday 1
Fri 11 Oct 2019
12:00
10 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 1
Sat 12 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 1
Sun 13 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 2
Fri 18 Oct 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 2
Sat 19 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 2
Sun 20 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 3
Fri 25 Oct 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 3
Sat 26 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 3
Sun 27 Oct 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Friday 4
Fri 01 Nov 2019
18:00
03 00
Queen Elizabeth Leisure Centre - Wimborne
Saturday 4
Sat 02 Nov 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd
Sunday 4
Sun 03 Nov 2019
09:00
08 00
Flippas-N-Fins Ltd